School of Communications Faculty

Our faculty provides world-class expertise and guidance for communication and journalism students.


Ann Auman

Professor
Office: Crawford 314
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3786
Email: auman@hawaii.edu
News Literacy, Media Ethics, Global Media/China

Kelly Bergstrom

Assistant Professor
Office: Crawford 330
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3781
Email: kelly.bergstrom@hawaii.edu
Digital Cultures, Game Studies, Feminist Methods

Wayne Buente

Associate Professor - COM Graduate Chair
Office: Crawford 304
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3360
Email: wbuente@hawaii.edu
ICTs, Social Media, Sociotechnical Studies

Patricia Amaral Buskirk

Associate Professor
Office: Crawford 327
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3335
Email: pbuskirk@hawaii.edu
Creative Communication for Civic Engagement

Julien Gorbach

Assistant Professor
Office: Crawford 303
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3356
Email: gorbach@hawaii.edu
News Writing, Reporting, Media History

Gerald Kato

Associate Professor
Office: Crawford 324
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3783
Email: gkato@hawaii.edu
News Writing, Broadcasting, Media Law

Ji Young Kim

Associate Professor
Office: Crawford 309
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3353
Email: jkim22@hawaii.edu
Strategic Communication, Public Relations

Hanae Kramer

Associate Professor
Office: Crawford 326
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3780
Email: hanae@hawaii.edu
Intercultural Communication, Japan, History

Marc Moody, Faculty, School of Communications, UH Mānoa

Marc Moody

Professor - COM Undergrad Chair
Office: Crawford 313
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-5590
Email: mmoody@hawaii.edu
Screenwriting, Narrative Film

Rachel Neo

Assistant Professor
Office: Crawford 307
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3332
Email: rneo@hawaii.edu
Social Media, Political Communication

Brett Oppegaard

Associate Professor - JOUR Undergrad Chair
Office: Crawford 310
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3340
Email: brett.oppegaard@hawaii.edu
New and Mobile Media, Locative, News Mediums

Scott Schimmel

Assistant Professor
Office: Crawford 308
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8782
Email: sschim@hawaii.edu
Documentary Storytelling, Sustainability

Jenifer Sunrise Winter

Professor - CIS Graduate Chair
Office: Crawford 325
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3784
Email: jwinter@hawaii.edu
Big Data Governance, Ethics, ICTD, Social Media