School of Communications Faculty

Our faculty provides world-class expertise and guidance for communication and journalism students.


Ann Auman

Professor
Office: Crawford 314
1 (808) 956-3786
auman@hawaii.edu
News Literacy, Media Ethics, Global Media/China

Kelly Bergstrom

Assistant Professor
Office: Crawford 331
1 (808) 956-3781
kelly.bergstrom@hawaii.edu
Digital Cultures, Game Studies, Feminist Methods

Wayne Buente

Associate Professor
Office: Crawford 304
1 (808) 956-3360
wbuente@hawaii.edu
ICTs, Social Media, Sociotechnical Studies

Patricia Amaral Buskirk

Associate Professor
Office: Crawford 327
1 (808) 956-3335
pbuskirk@hawaii.edu
Creative Communication for Civic Engagement

Julien Gorbach

Assistant Professor
Office: Crawford 303
1 (808) 956-3356
gorbach@hawaii.edu
News Writing, Reporting, Media History

Gerald Kato

Associate Professor - School Chair
Office: Crawford 321
1 (808) 956-3783
gkato@hawaii.edu
News Writing, Broadcasting, Media Law

Ji Young Kim

Associate Professor
Office: Crawford 309
1 (808) 956-3353
jkim22@hawaii.edu
Strategic Communication, Public Relations

Hanae Kramer

Assistant Professor
Office: Crawford 326
1 (808) 956-3780
hanae@hawaii.edu
Intercultural Communication, Japan, History

Marc Moody, Faculty, School of Communications, UH Mānoa

Marc Moody

Professor - COM Undergrad Chair
Office: Crawford 313
1 (808) 956-5590
mmoody@hawaii.edu
Screenwriting, Narrative Film

Rachel Neo

Assistant Professor
Office: Crawford 307
1 (808) 956-3332
rneo@hawaii.edu
Social Media, Political Communication

Brett Oppegaard

Associate Professor - JOUR Undergrad Chair
Office: Crawford 330
1 (808) 956-3340
brett.oppegaard@hawaii.edu
New and Mobile Media, Locative, News Mediums

Scott Schimmel

Assistant Professor
Office: Crawford 308
1 (808) 956-8782
sschim@hawaii.edu
Documentary Storytelling, Sustainability

Jenifer Sunrise Winter

Associate Professor - Graduate Chair
Office: Crawford 325
1 (808) 956-3784
jwinter@hawaii.edu
Big Data Governance, Ethics, ICTD, Social Media